First Post, Let’s Make it Count

This is a momentous event!  It might not seem like it to you, but for me this is making history.  First off let me thank you for reading this, the internet is full of distractions and anyone who has pulse can make a blog, the fact that you are still reading this is pretty special.  Let me say how attractive and intelligent you are, I bet you are a lot of fun at parties.

What is 5280 Free? Glad you asked, this blog covers all things interesting, well interesting to me at least.  Posts fall into three main categories– Culture and Entertainment, where I discuss movies, video games, music, sports, food, all the things that make life worth living.  Science and Technology all things nerdy, including tech reviews, science topics, and programming/coding tutorials.  The last category is Business and Politics where I discuss current events.

Who is this guy writing this blog?  My name is Jakob Essig, I am writing from the Rocky Mountains (is the 5280 making more sense)?  I developed a passion for writing at an early age, including writing for my High School Newspaper.  My passion grew in college, especially while writing papers for my Marketing Degree,  where I developed an appreciation for small businesses and the struggles and triumphs they face.

Fortunately, I got to build upon this passion, currently I work with small businesses and their marketing efforts.  My interest in science spurred from my years of experience as an EMT, where I graduated with my degree in Biology.  Programming and software engineering is my new calling, I am currently earning my Master’s Degree in software engineering.  And yes, I do other things that work and study, you can learn more in my about me section.

Why should you read this blog? Because you have options and a lot of those options suck! The goal of this blog is to be of an asset to your life.  Whether your are a student, an entrepreneur, or just bored, my goal is to be there for you.  From tutorials, editorials, local guides, and cool pictures, there is something to offer for everyone!

When will new content be up?  As of right now, I work full-time, go to school full-time, and try to have some semblance of a social life.  The plan is to have a full post once a week on Fridays. To hold you over I will periodically post some smaller listings such as photo journals, videos, and excerpts.

Where else can you find me?  I have a budding social media presence.  You can find me on Twitter, Youtube, Facebook,  and Instagram.  I will also be posting on Sound Cloud, 500 PX, and Flickr.  A list of relevant links can be found in my about me section.

How do is see this blog evolving?  Hopefully this blog will continue to grow and branch out to new sources.  It is very much a work in progress, personally I am excited to see where this goes. If you would like to contribute to the blog with posts, content, etc… please let me know, the best way to contact me is via email or social media.  Suggestions and feedback are always welcome.

That’s it, hopefully you are as excited about this as I am. If you have any ideas, suggestion, comments, concerns, or feedback please feel free to let me know.  Thank you and Welcome to 5280Free.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

